Why Gummies Made with Pectin are Superior to Gelatin?

  • by Lourdes Staff
Why Gummies Made with Pectin are Superior to Gelatin?

Gummies made with pectin are superior to the gelatin-based gummies that you’re used to eating. because pectin is a natural, plant-based ingredient that can easily be extracted from vegetables or fruits like apples and oranges. Pectin has been used as an ingredient in food for centuries, but it has only recently been getting attention from health and wellness professionals who are looking for ways to improve their diet without changing their lifestyle too much.

Is pectin healthy?

While gelatin is a safe, natural protein that's been used to make gummies for years, pectin is also a natural ingredient. Pectin is a carbohydrate found in fruit and vegetable cell walls; it helps give fruits their structure. Pectin is a polysaccharide (carbohydrate).  It keeps the gut healthy by providing easy-to-absorb fiber for digestion. Additionally, because of its water-binding properties, pectin can help with weight loss by making you feel fuller longer and decreasing appetite between meals.  Pectin has also been proven to lower cholesterol levels and regulate blood sugar levels

Can gelatin cause gummies to have a weird texture?

Gelatin gummies can get a weird texture because it is less stable than pectin. This can affect the flavor of a product and make it undesirable to consume. In addition, gelatin is more likely to turn into a solid mass when refrigerated or placed in heat. 

Pectin is much more stable than gelatin and won't change color or texture nearly as much with changes in temperature or humidity. This means that pectin gummies are much easier for manufacturers to work with than gelatin gummies.  Using pectin alleviates the concern about whether or not the gummies will maintain their shape with temperature changes because pectin doesn't melt at high temperatures or change shape in cold temperatures like gelatin.

Is pectin vegan friendly?

Pectin is a natural plant-based ingredient, making it suitable for vegetarians and vegans alike. A fun fact about pectin: it's also found in plants as part of the cell walls.  This means that all fruits have pectin in them, so any kind of berry or stone fruit will work well in vegan gummies made with this ingredient.

Gelatin, on the other hand, is derived from animal products—specifically beef or pig skin and bones. Pectin is a gelatin-free option that still offers the same great taste and texture as your favorite gummy treats.

Pectin is the best gummy-making ingredient. It's a natural product that gives you control over your final product and it's also easy to find at any grocery store or health food store. It is a natural vegan friendly alternative to gelatin and will not change its shape with shifts in temperature. When looking for a quality CBD gummy, check the ingredients and consider gummies that are made with pectin and not gelatin.


No Products in the Cart